Ship: USS General Langfitt

The USS General Langfitt was built in 1944 by Kaiser Co. Inc. in Richmond, California and named after General William Campbell Langfitt. She was first used during the war to transport American troops. By the time she was inactivated on September 30, 1957, she had travelled all over the world, a people carrier dropping off refugees, troops, veterans, in all corners of the globe. She sat as part of the US National Defense’ reserve fleet for a while, then was sold in 1968  and used as a container vessel, renamed SS Transindiana. The SS Transindiana was scrapped in 1983 in Brownsville, Texas.
Arturs Ziverts and his family (except for his sisters, Ida and Olga, his mother Jule and his daughter Irma) left Bremerhaven, Germany aboard the USS General Langfitt on March 19, 1950 bound for Berthoud, Colorado.

USS General Langfitt

USS General Langfitt

5 thoughts on “Ship: USS General Langfitt

  1. My father who is of German decent was a ship’s officer aboard the Langfitt. At the age of 90, he still talks about this ship and the people it carried. I was just looking up some info on he ship and found it was converted and operated until the late 70’s.

    • My family also came to the USA on the Langfitt in 1957. We where told it was the last time it carried immigrants. I remember working in the kitchen for a couple of dollars of pay. I also remember half of the passengers being seasick. Which was ok with me, since sick people eat less, and I had less dishes to wash. Original my family was from Kurland. I am probably the last one of my tribe.

  2. Qur family (Roostna) traveled to Venezuela on board of the Gen. WC Langfitt and arrived on April1st,1950 in this country. Also my wife´s family (Javornik) came to Venezuela on board
    Her name Elizabeth Javornik..
    We married in Venezuela in 1960 and still going strong after 53 years.
    So this ship got us together with it´s blessing.
    Thanks to USNS Gen. WC Langfitt.
    (We keep a framed foto of this great ship in our office here in Valencia, Venezuela.)

  3. My family: my parents, maternal grandmother and I, age 6/ 3/4 years old, boarded USS General Langflitt in Bremenhaven in early March of 1950, first stop was in Caracas Venezuela. I remember bananas being brought on board. We then sailed north to New Orleans. Boarded a train going west to Los Angeles, where we spent the day walking around until our train going north departed. We were met by the ranch owner in middle of the night in Paso Robles. Our first morning there was Easter Sunday if I remember correctly. I also met my first rattlesnake that morning.
    P.S. We came from Latvia

    • Dear Anita: Welcome to the USS Gen. Langfitt “Club”. I am sure we must have met on board with other kids.(Our age 13 at that time). We stayed in Venezuela until 1960 and studied at University of Florida in Ganesville,Fl, U.S.A.
      I persued my graduate work there as well .
      Now we are both retired from teaching at the Sate University here in Valencia, Venezuela and presently working at the General Consulate (H) of Estonia,
      since 1999.
      We have been back in Estonia several times and it is heart warming to see how our Baltic Sates have done such a huge step in progress and well-being.
      Our congratulations also to the fine people of Latvia. Excellent!!!
      Kind regards.
      Arne Roostna , Consul General (H) of Estonia in Venezuela
      Elizabeth Roostna , Consular Offcer.
      conestiven@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

